Aboubakar shines as Cameroon defeat Mozambique

Aboubakar shines as Cameroon defeat Mozambique
Vincent Aboubakar of Cameroon

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Nov 12, 2020. 20:50

Cameroon hammered Mozambique 4-1 in the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier at the Stade de la Réunification on Thursday evening.

The result saw the Indomitable Lions move up to the top of the Group F table, while the Mambas slipped down to the second spot on the standings.

The Indomitable Lions pushed for an early goal with Turkey-based marksman Vincent Aboubakar spearheading the attack for António Conceicao’s side.

However, the Mambas, who came into the clash undefeated in five matches, were able to contain the hosts in the opening stages of the encounter.

Cameroon continued to push for the opening goal and it finally came eight minutes after the hour-mark.

Aboubakar was the man, who broke the deadlock to make it 1-0 to Cameroon after Mozambique had failed to clear their lines.

Cameroon, who have already qualified for the 2022 AFCON finals by virtue of being the tournament hosts, were leading 1-0 during the half-time break.

The Indomitable Lions continued to dominate the match after the restart and they managed to double their lead through Aboubakar in the 47th minute.

The Besiktas JK player hit the back of the net with a decent finish to make it 2-0 to Cameroon with the Mozambique defence exposed.

It was soon 3-0 to the hosts with the Mambas struggling to contain the five-time African champions.

This time it was Fulham FC central midfielder André-Frank Zambo Anguissa, who beat Mozambique goalkeeper Julio Franque just before the hour-mark.

Mozambique pushed forward and they managed to pull one back through Kevin Cumbane, who is better known as Kamo Kamo to make it 3-1 with 16 minutes left.

However, the goal proved to be a consolation as Clinton N’Jie sealed Cameroon’s 4-1 win over Mozambique in the closing stages after being set-up by Anguissa.

Cameroon (1) 4 (Aboubakar 38′ 47′, Anguissa 58′, N’Jie 80′)

Mozambique (0) 1 (Kamo Kamo 16′)

Cameroon: Onana, Mbaizo, Moukoudi, Castelletto, Bitolo, Anguissa, Djoum (Kunde Malong 65′), Bassogog (N’Jie 64′), Ekambi (Gouet 71′), Ngamaleu (Tabekou 78′), Aboubakar (Bahoken 65′).

Mozambique: Franque, Sidique, Zainadine Júnior, Chico, Kambala, Kito (Telinho 61′), Quito, Clesio (Reginaldo 61′), Geny (Kamo Kamo 67′), Miquissone (Lourenco Vilanculos 46′), Pelembe (Mandava 61′).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.