VIDEO: Watch how Orlando Pirates ended their six-year trophy drought

VIDEO: Watch how Orlando Pirates ended their six-year trophy drought
Deon Hotto of Orlando Pirates tackled by Lucky Baloyi of Bloemfontein Celtic during the 2020 MTN8 final match between Bloemfontein Celtic and Orlando Pirates at Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban, on 12 December 2020 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Bertin Basson

Sunday Dec 13, 2020. 09:00

Orlando Pirates ended their six-year wait for silverware on Saturday evening.

The Buccaneers beat 10-man Bloemfontein Celtic 2-1 at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban to clinch the 2020 MTN8 trophy, their first title since lifting the 2014 Nedbank Cup at the very same venue on South Africa’s east coast.

Celtic, who had Ronald Pfumbidzai sent off in the 50th minute, opened the scoring through Siphelele Luthuli but goals from Deon Hotto and Thembinkosi Lorch steered the Buccaneers to victory.

It is the third time that Pirates have won South Africa’s top-eight competition since MTN took over as the sponsor of the competition in 2008. In total, the Soweto giants have now won the top-eight tournament on 10 occasions, five less than fierce rivals and record holders Kaizer Chiefs.

Relive all the action, here:

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.