McKinstry names provisional CHAN squad

McKinstry names provisional CHAN squad
Uganda national team coach Jonathan McKinstry

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Dec 19, 2020. 14:00

Uganda national team coach Jonathan McKinstry has named a 28-man preliminary squad for the 2021 African Nations Championship (CHAN).

The Cranes coach has retained most of the players which did duty in the CHAN qualifiers, as well as the 2019 CECAFA regional championship, such as Said Kyenune, Shafiq Kagimu, Said Ssekajjugo, Ben Ocen, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Stephen Mukwala, Karim Watambala, Ashraf Mandela, Paul Willa, Patrick Mbowa, Mustafa Mujjuzi, Halid Lwaliwa and Joel Mutakubw.

McKinstry has also included U-20 stars Aziz Kayondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga and Ivan Bogere, while other new faces to the team are Muhamood Hassan, Joseph Ssemujju and Eric Ssenjobe.

Uganda have left out KCCA players, due to the club’s CAF Confederation Cup matches later this month and in early January.

Uganda preliminary CHAN squad

Goalkeepers: Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume), Nafian Alionzi (URA), Tom Ikara (Police).

Defenders: Eric Ssenjobe (Police), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Derrick Ndahiro (SC Villa), Paul Willa (Vipers), Ashraf Mandela (URA), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Mustafa Mujjuzi (Kyetume), Patrick Mbowa (URA), Murushid Juuko (Express), Muhamood Hassan (Police).

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA), Tonny Mawejje (Police), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hassan Ssenyonjo (Wakiso Giants).

Forwards: Ben Ocen (Police), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Vianne Ssekajjugo (Wakiso Giants), Joseph Ssemujju (BUL), Joakim Ojera (URA), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Stephen Mukwala (URA), Mohamed Shaban (Vipers), Ivan Bogere (Proline).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.