Micho explains why fans helped pick CHAN squad

Micho explains why fans helped pick CHAN squad
Milutin Sredojevic

by Graeme Jackson

Thursday Dec 31, 2020. 10:00

Zambia national team manager Milutin Sredojevic has explained why supporters were included in the process of selecting the preliminary squad for the upcoming African Nations Championship (CHAN).

Five players from the 31-man squad list announced by ‘Micho’ for the tournament in Cameroon were nominated by the ‘Fans’ Select’ initiative: Zesco United defenders Adrian Chama and Clement Mwape, Zanaco striker Roger Kola, midfielders Spencer Sautu of Power Dynamos and Harrison Chisala of Nkana FC.

“The kind of competition we are going to needs an injection of maturity, seniority and experience,” the Serbian manager is quoted by Goal.

“We did our own assessment, but we still left supporters to choose them and instead of us rewarding them on past experience, the players proved on the field of play what we spoke about hence we have involved them in our squad.”

Chipolopolo will warm up for the CHAN with a mini-tournament involving hosts Cameroon, Niger and Uganda from 1 to 7 January.

The CHAN finals will run from 16 January to 10 February, with Zambia placed in Group D alongside Guinea, Tanzania and Namibia.

Zambia preliminary CHAN squad

Goalkeepers: Charles Kalumba (Prison Leopards), Lameck Siame (Kabwe Warriors), Patrick Chooma (KYSA), Richard Nyirenda (Nchanga Rangers).

Defenders: Adrian Chama, Clement Mwape (both Zesco United), Benedict Chepeshi (Red Arrows), Dominic Chanda (Kabwe Warriors), Luka Banda (Napsa Stars), Golden Mafwenta (Buildcon), Kondwani Chiboni, Zacharia Chilongoshi, Benson Sakala (all Power Dynamos), Pride Mwansa (Nkwazi),

Midfielders: Amity Shamende (Green Eagles), Albert Kangwanda, Kelvin Kapumbu (both Zanaco), Leonard Mulenga, Jack Chirwa (both Green Buffaloes), Kelvin Kampamba, Bruce Musakanya (both Zesco United), Spencer Sautu, Chaniza Zulu (both Power Dynamos), Harrison Chisala (Nkana), Collins Sikombe (Lusaka Dynamo), Paul Katema, Felix Bulaya (both Red Arrows),

Strikers: Emmanuel Chabula (Lusaka Dynamos), Friday Samu (Green Buffaloes), Moses Phiri, Roger Kola (both Zanaco).


Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.