Uganda confident of success at U-20 AFCON

Uganda confident of success at U-20 AFCON

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Jan 23, 2021. 12:00

Uganda captain Gavin Kizito has expressed confidence that his team will achieve great things at the upcoming U-20 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

The Young Cranes secured a debut appearance at the continental tournament (alongside Tanzania) after they finished first in the CECAFA qualifying region.

Coach Morley Byekwaso and his preliminary squad of 38 players have already begun preparations, with Kizito explaining that qualifying for the U-20 World Cup in Indonesia is the new goal.

“We have started preparing for our AFCON 2021 tournament which is going to take place in Mauritania,” Kizito is quoted by Sports Nation.

“I am sure we are going to conquer and qualify for the World Cup because we are all in good shape and the players are prepared.”

He added, “As the players, our main target is to play at the World Cup even though we are first going to play at AFCON.”

The U-20 AFCON will be held from 14 February to 4 March, with the top four teams qualifying for the U-20 World Cup later this year.

Uganda U-20 AFCON preliminary squad

Goalkeepers: Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Kiberu Ronald (Synergy FC), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa), Ochama Daniel (Boro Boro SuperSport FC), Kato Peter (Super Cubs FC).

Defenders: Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Vipers SC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Kitabalwa Robert (Vipers SC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Bbosa Richard (Express FC).

Midfielders: Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Lutalo Umar (Aspire Academy), Alou John Kokas (URA FC), Okur Swamadu (Kataka FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).

Forwards: Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Odokonyero Nathan (Lincoln City FC U18-UK), Kitaka Samuel Moses (Loughborough University-UK), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Onyai Raymond (Mbarara City FC), Mulindi Ashiraf (Kataka FC), Mukisa Emmanuel (Kataka FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.