Tshakhuma edge Chiefs in Polokwane

Tshakhuma edge Chiefs in Polokwane
Thabo Rakhale of Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila celebrates goal with teammates during the DStv Premiership 2020/21 match between Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila and Kaizer Chiefs

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday May 04, 2021. 19:12

Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila (TTM) defeated Kaizer Chiefs 2-1 in the DStv Premiership match at the Peter Mokaba Stadium on Tuesday evening.

As a result, Vhadau Vha Damani moved up to 14th place on the league table, while Amakhosi remained ninth on the standings.

Vhadau Vha Damani attacked Amakhosi from the first whistle with the likes of Thabo Rakhale, Thabo Mnyamane and Ndabayithethwa Ndlondlo causing havoc for the visitors’ defence.

Njabulo Blom was booked after fouling TTM’s troublesome Ndlondlo in the 18th minute and Mnyamane forced Chiefs goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma into a fine save with a well-taken shot.

TTM continued to pile pressure on Chiefs, who were reduced to 10 players in the 38th minute when Blom was sent off after receiving his second yellow card of the game.

Mnyamane hit the crossbar with Bvuma well-beaten after Vhadau Vha Damani wer

    e awarded a free-kick in a promising area five minutes before half-time.

    TTM did get the goal they had been looking for in the 42nd minute when Rakhale controlled the ball well, before firing past Bvuma to make it 1-0 to TTM heading into the half-time break.

    Amakhosi surged forward after the restart despite being numerically disadvantaged and they were left vulnerable at the back with both teams creating chances within the first 15 minutes of the second-half.

    Chiefs were awarded a penalty after Samir Nurkovic was fouled in the box and Lebogang Manyama scored to make it 1-1 from the rebound after his shot was blocked by Arubi from the penalty spot in the 66th minute.

    It was then end-to-end stuff with Mnyamane hitting the side-netting from a free-kick in the 73rd minute and almost immediately at the other end, Bernard Parker hit the crossbar after being set-up by Nurkovic.

    The momentum was the hosts in the closing stages and they were awarded a penalty after Siyabonga Ngezana was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box and Mnyamane converted the resultant penalty to seal Tshakhuma’s 2-1 win.

    Tshakhuma (1) 2 (Rakhale 42′, Mnyamane 90’+8)

    Chiefs (0) 1 (Manyama 66′)

    Tshakhuma: Arubi, Ndlondlo, Thopola (Theron 75′), Nkili, Nonyane, Ravhuhali, Rakhale (Nevhulamba 69′), Timm, Ngema, Mnyamane, Lamola (Molangoane 80′).

    Chiefs: Bvuma, Zulu, Ngezana, Frosler, Mphahlele, Blom, Parker, Baccus (Katsande 74′), Mashiane (Sasman 46′), Manyama (Zuma 74′), Nurkovic (Castro 88′).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.