Micho names final 22-man team for June Friendly Tour

Micho names final 22-man team for June Friendly Tour
Mwenya Chibwe of Polokwane City

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Jun 01, 2021. 16:00

Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic has named his final 22-member Chipolopolo Zambia team for the three –match international friendly tour that begins this weekend against Senegal.

Chipolopolo will be away over the next fortnight during the June FIFA international match break to play Senegal, Benin and Sudan.

Micho cut his team from 36 to 22 players that has been hit by a raft of withdrawals due injuries, club and family commitments with the highlight coming last Saturday when midfielder Clatous Chama of Tanzanian champions Simba SC lost his wife.

The Serbian-born coach will have just four out of the fourteen foreign- base call-ups he had initially summoned.

Those available include teenager striker Ntazana Mayembe of Welsh club Cardiff City.

Mayembe is one of two players in line for their Zambia debut together with Lusaka Dynamos defender Gaboniso Magenge during the June 5 date against Senegal in Thies.

South African-based goalkeeper Mwenya Chibwe plus his Polokwane City club mate and midfielder Salulani Phiri have made the trip to West Africa.

Defender Tandi Mwapeof DR Congo giants TP Mazembe completes the foreign –based quartet heading to West Africa.

Also in the team is Buildcon FC striker Brian Mwila who is expected to finally end his three-year Chipolopolo hiatus.

Mwila’s return last March was cut short after he withdrew from Chipolopolo’s last two 2021 AFCON Group H qualifiers against Algeria and Zimbabwe due to injury.

“I know I was out for some time but this time I am back to stay,” Mwila said in Lusaka prior to departure on Tuesday for Senegal.

“I am fit, I am prepared and I am looking forward to fight for my position in the national team.

“It is my goal to work extra hard but I will not rely on what I have done for the team in the past.”

Meanwhile, Chipolopolo’s second stop will be in Cotonou on June 8 to play Benin and thereafter face Sudan on June 11 at Omdurman.

GOALKEEPERS: Cyril Chibwe (Polokwane City, South Africa), Lameck Siame (Kabwe Warriors), Gregory Sianjase (Young Green Eagles)

DEFENDERS: Tandi Mwape (TP Mazembe, DRC), Isaac Shamujompa, Golden Mafwenta (Buildcon), Benedict Chepeshi, Prosper Chiluya (both Red Arrows), Dominic Chanda (Kabwe Warriors), Gaboniso Magenge (Lusaka Dynamos)

MIDFIELDERS: Benson Sakala, Spencer Sautu (both Power Dynamos), Salulani Phiri (Polokwane City, South Africa), Kelvin Mubanga (Zesco United), Amity Shamende (Green Eagles), Paul Katema (Red Arrows), Prince Mumba (Kabwe Warriors)

FORWARDS: Collins Sikombe (Lusaka Dynamos), Moses Phiri, Rogers Kola (both Zanaco) Ntazana Mayembe (Cardiff City, Wales), Brian Mwila (Buildcon)


Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.