2020-21 DStv Premiership in Numbers

2020-21 DStv Premiership in Numbers
Mamelodi Sundowns winners the DStv Premiership 2020/21 match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Cape Town City at Loftu Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria, on 05 June 2021 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Sunday Jun 06, 2021. 11:00

The 2020-21 DStv Premiership, the 25th edition of South Africa’s Premier Soccer League (PSL), wrapped up on Saturday 5 June. We take a closer look at the key numbers which defined the campaign.

4 – Mamelodi Sundowns won an unprecedented fourth successive title. The Brazilians have won 11 PSL championships from a total of 25 seasons since the league’s formation in 1996.

2 – This is the second time in PSL history that co-coaches have guided a team to the title. The first was in 2005-06 when Miguel Gamondi and Neil Tovey did the job for Sundowns, while this season saw Rulani Mokwena, Manqoba Mngqithi and Steve Komphela repeat the feat for the Tshwane club.

1 – Sundowns lost just one match in the season (a new PSL record) and were the first team to go unbeaten away from home through the entire campaign.

16 – The number of goals scored by SuperSport United’s Bradley Grobler, the leading goal scorer for the season. It is the third successive season that 16 goals has been the winning total for the ‘Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot’ award.

507 – The number of goals scored in the DStv Premiership in 2020-21, at an average of 2.11 per match.

20 – Swallows FC recorded a PSL-era record 20 draws, including a run of seven in a row at the back end of the season.

7 – The season’s highest-scoring games both produced seven goals and both involved AmaZulu: a 4-3 win for Sundowns over the Durban club in November 2020, as well as Usuthu’s thrilling 4-3 win over Bloemfontein Celtic in February 2021.

6 – AmaZulu also had the longest winning run, six games, of the season, though Sundowns enjoyed the longest unbeaten stretch, putting together 21 games without a loss from the start of the campaign.

5-1 – The biggest wins of the season (both home and away) were 5-1: Maritzburg United defeated Chippa United at home and AmaZulu were victorious away to Cape Town City – both by that score and both in the month of April 2021.

3 – All three promoted/new teams in the DStv Premiership avoided relegation: Swallows FC (promoted), TS Galaxy (bought Highlands Park status) and Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila (bought Bidvest Wits’ status) finished sixth, ninth and 12th respectively.

225 – The number of days that the 2020-21 season spanned, starting on Saturday 24 October 2020 and ending on 5 June 2021.

15 million – The prize money in South African Rand won by Mamelodi Sundowns for being DStv Premiership champions.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.