Ayew, Mendy & Gyan win big at Ghana Football awards

Ayew, Mendy & Gyan win big at Ghana Football awards
Andre Ayew of Swansea City

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jul 04, 2021. 09:00

Ghanaian stars Andre Ayew and Asamoah Gyan and Senegalese goalkeeper Edouard Mendy were the big winners at the annual Ghana Football Awards.

Ayew, who is a midfielder-cum-striker, was named Ghana Footballer of the Year award following a successful 2020/21 season in which he helped Swansea City reach the English Championship promotional playoffs.

The Ghana captain also played a key role in helping the West African giant qualify for the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations finals and he beat Great Olympics captain Gladson Awako and Ajax attacker Kudus Mohammed to the accolade.

While Mendy scooped the Best African International Award having played an instrumental role in helping Chelsea FC clinch the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League trophy.

The lanky keeper kept 16 clean sheets in his first English Premier League season and he also helped Senegal qualify for the 2022 AFCON finals which will be hosted by Cameroon.

Lastly, Gyan won the Player of the Decade Award having been among the Black Stars’ best performers at the 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 AFCON finals

The Legon Cities marksman also represented Ghana at the 2014 FIFA World Cup finals in Brazil where he scored two goals against Germany and Portugal.

Gyan is the all-time leading goalscorer of the Ghana national team, with 51 goals and with six goals, he is the top African goalscorer in the history of the World Cup.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.