‘Downs and Chiefs set for early heavyweight bout

‘Downs and Chiefs set for early heavyweight bout
Njabulo Blom of Kaizer Chiefs challenged by Andile Jali of Mamelodi Sundowns

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Aug 14, 2021. 10:00

Mamelodi Sundowns and Kaizer Chiefs will have an early-season heavyweight bout when they clash in the third quarterfinal of the 2021 MTN8, scheduled for the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday 15 August 2021, kick-off at 15:00 CAT.

Sundowns earned their top billing in the MTN8 by winning a fourth successive league title last term, as they ended a whopping 13 points clear of nearest chasers AmaZulu on the DStv Premiership log.

The Brazilians have dominated South African football in recent years, but the MTN8 has been something of a bogey competition for them: the Tshwane club has won just three Top Eight titles and the most recent was only in 2007 (back when it was still known as the SAA Supa8).

Last season ‘Downs exited the MTN8 in the quarterfinals, suffering a surprise 1-0 loss to Bloemfontein Celtic.

Chiefs only just scraped into the top half of the Premiership log last season, ending in eighth place ahead of rookies TS Galaxy only on goal difference.

The Soweto giants are the record-holders for the most MTN8 titles (15), though their last triumph in this competition came back in 2014. At the time they were managed by Stuart Baxter, with the Englishman having now returned for his second tenure in charge of the Amakhosi.

Chiefs’ MTN8 campaign last season saw them defeat Maritzburg United 2-1 in the quarters before an embarrassing 5-0 aggregate thrashing at the hands of arch rivals Orlando Pirates in the semis.

In head-to-head terms, Sundowns and Chiefs have met in 27 cup matches dating back as far as 1985, with the Amakhosi claiming 12 outright wins (plus six via penalties) compared to six (plus one via penalties) for the Brazilians.

The teams’ most recent cup clash was in the final of the 2015-16 Telkom Knockout, with ‘Downs triumphing 3-1.

Overall, these two heavyweight clubs have met in 99 matches across all competitions since 1985, with Chiefs taking 41 wins compared to 29 for Sundowns, while 29 games have been drawn.

The teams’ league meetings last season both produced away victories: Sundowns won 3-0 at FNB Stadium in October 2020, while the return game at Loftus Versfeld in April 2021 saw Chiefs triumph 2-1 – it was the Brazilians’ only league defeat of the previous campaign.



Season Cup Result Scorers

1986 JPS 1st rd Chiefs 1-0 Sundowns Anderson (og)

1986 Mainstay qfinal Chiefs 2-3 Sundowns Shongwe, Molatedi (pen); Chitja, Chafunya, Mosimane (pen)

1987 Ohlssons sf 1st leg Sundowns 0-2 Chiefs Mthimkulu 2

1987 Ohlssons sf 2nd leg Chiefs 4-0 Sundowns Molatedi 3, Ntsoelengoe

1988 Ohlssons sf 1st leg Chiefs 1-1 Sundowns Ntsoelengoe; Chafunya

1988 Ohlssons sf 2nd leg Sundowns 1-0 Chiefs Masinga

1991 Castle qfinal Chiefs 1-0 Sundowns Khuse

1992 BP Top 8 final Chiefs 1-0 Sundowns Khuse

1993 BP Top 8 qfinal Chiefs 0-2 Sundowns Masilela

1994 BP Top 8 final Chiefs 3-2 Sundowns Nyirenda 2, Maringa; Motaung, Mudau

1995 Coca-Cola qfinal Sundowns 0-1 Chiefs Mthethwa

1995 Bob Save 2nd rd Chiefs 3-2 Sundowns Seale, Tshisevhe, Lebese; Molefe, Mudau

1997/98 Rothmans Cup final Chiefs 1-1 Sundowns Lebese; Chukwu

1997/98 Rothmans Cup final(r) Sundowns 1-1* Chiefs Chukwu; Muchichwa

1998/99 Rothmans Cup final Chiefs 2-2* Sundowns Mooki, Nomvethe; Masilela, Bapela

1999/00 Bob Save final Chiefs 1-0 Sundowns Nomvethe

2000/01 BP Top 8 3rd place Chiefs 3-2 Sundowns Pule, Nauseb 2; Meiring, B. Mnguni

2000/01 Bob Save semi Chiefs 0-2 Sundowns Chukwu 2

2001/02 BP Top 8 final Chiefs 2-2* Sundowns Zwane, Nzama; Mudau 2

2003/04 Absa Cup 1st rd Sundowns 1-3 Chiefs Jordaan; Moshoeu, Dlamini, Mendu

2005/06 Absa Cup semi Chiefs 0-0*Sundowns

2007/08 Telkom KO final Chiefs 0-0* Sundowns

2007/08 Nedbank Cup 2nd rd Chiefs 1-1**Sundowns Khenyeza; Moriri

2008/09 MTN8 final Chiefs 0-0*Sundowns

2009/10 Telkom KO qfinal Sundowns 0-1 Chiefs Masango

2012/13 MTN8 qfinal Sundowns 4-1 Chiefs Sangweni, Langerman, Mokoena, Manqele; Letsholonyane

2015/16 Telkom KO final Sundowns 3-1 Chiefs Castro, Nthethe, Kekana; Abraw

*Chiefs won on penalties

**Sundowns won on penalties


Season Result Scorers

2016/17 Sundowns 2-1 Chiefs Langerman, Vilakazi; Mphahlele

2016/17 Chiefs 2-1 Sundowns Parker, Soumahoro (og); Billiat

2017/18 Sundowns 1-2 Chiefs Zwane (pen); Ngezana, Parker

2017/18 Chiefs 0-0 Sundowns

2018/19 Sundowns 1-1 Chiefs Nascimento (pen); Mphahlele

2018/19 Chiefs 1-2 Sundowns Katsande; Laffor, Maboe

2019/20 Sundowns 0-2 Chiefs Nurkovic 2

2019/20 Chiefs 0-1 Sundowns Sirino

2020/21 Chiefs 0-3 Sundowns Shalulile, Erasmus, Zwane (pen)

2020/21 Sundowns 1-2 Chiefs Sirino; Lebusa (og), Zuma



Sundowns 27 6 9 12 30 36

Chiefs 27 12 9 6 36 30

OVERALL RECORD (all competitions, since 1985)


Sundowns 99 29 29 41 97 117

Chiefs 99 41 29 29 117 97

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.