Mulee leaves Wanyama out of WCQ squad

Mulee leaves Wanyama out of WCQ squad
Victor Wanyama of Kenya

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Aug 21, 2021. 15:51

Kenya national team coach Jacob Mulee has named a preliminary squad for the upcoming 2022 World Cup Qualifying matches against Uganda and Rwanda.

The 36-man list submitted by ‘Ghost’ does not contain the names of regular captain Victor Wanyama, as well as veteran midfielder Johanna Omollo and key defender Joash Onyango.

The Football Kenya Federation said that the players will report for training immediately after the FKF Premier League season ends this Sunday.

Notable inclusions include KAA Gent defender Joseph Okumu, Eric Ouma of AIK, Al-Duhail’s Michael Olunga and the Zambia-based trio of Ian Otieno, Duke Abuya, and Duncan Otieno. Sweden-based Eric Johanna also makes a return to the team.

Notable locally-based players include FKF Premier League top scorer Erick Kapaito, Lawrence Juma, Eugene Asike and Elvis Rupia.

“This is a strong group of players, we have a superb blend of experience, youth, ability, and personalities. This is a group of players who have what it takes to start well against Uganda and go all the way,” said Mulee.

Kenya will open their Group E campaign at home to Uganda on September 2, before travelling to face Rwanda away on September 5.

Kenya preliminary squad


Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya), Joseph Okoth (KCB, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Brandon Obiero (Kariobangi Sharks).


Joseph Okumu (KAA Gent, Belgium), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), Eugene Asike (Tusker, Kenya), Nashon Alembi (KCB, Kenya), Harun Shakava (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Siraj Mohammed (Bandari, Kenya), Clyde Senaji (AFC Leopards), Frank Odhiambo (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Bolton Omwenga (Nairobi City Stars, Kenya), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya).


Richard Odada (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Duke Abuya (Nkana, Zambia), Duncan Otieno (Lusaka Warriors (Zambia), Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Kenneth Muguna (Azam, Tanzania), Kevin Kimani (Wazito, Kenya), Patillah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Enock Momanyi (FC Talanta, Kenya), Jackson Macharia (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Johanna (Jonkopings Sondra IF, Sweden), Boniface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari, Kenya).


Michael Olunga (Al-Duhail, Qatar), Masud Juma (Difaâ Hassani El Jadidi, Morocco), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Erick Kapaito (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Elvis Rupia (AFC Leopards), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Benson Omalla (Gor Mahia, Kenya).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.