Equatorial Guinea name team for Zambia clash

Equatorial Guinea name team for Zambia clash
Youssef Msakni of Tunisia challenged by Pedro Obiang of Equatorial Guinea during the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier between Tunisia and Equatorial Guinea at Stade Olympique de Rades,Rades,Tunisia,on 28 March 2021 ©BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Sep 26, 2021. 17:00

Equatorial Guinea midfielder Pedro Obiang will miss another two rounds of FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 qualifiers on medical grounds after coach Juan Micha left him out of the 25-man team for the October Group B doubleheader against Chipolopolo Zambia.

Chipolopolo will face Equatorial Guinea away on October 7 in Malabo and host Micha’s side in Lusaka on October 10.

The ex-West Ham midfielder who now plays for Serie A club Sassuolo has not featured for his Italian team this season due to a respiratory infection that was detected by his clubs’ medical staff in August.

Obiang also missed Equatorial Guinea s opening Group B qualifiers against Tunisia away that they lost 3-0 on September 3 and Mauritania that his team won 1-0 at home on September 7.

But Equatorial Guinea’s clubless captain and striker Emilio Nsue has kept his place in the team.

Micha has also made five changes from last September’s opening Group B match that includes defender Rui Gomes who came on against Tunisia and started the game against Mauritania.

The five replacements are all European-based, four alone from Spain, while midfielder Jose Dicombo is from Serie B side Monza.

Equatorial Guinea are third in Group B on 3 points, level with Zambia and are three points behind leaders Tunisia.

Mauritania are last after losing their opening Group B matches.

GOALKEEPERS: Jesús Lázaro Owono (Alavés B), Mariano Magno Mbá (Dvo. Unidad) y Manuel Sapunga Mbara (Futuro Kings).

DEFENDERS: Luís Alberto Meseguer (CD Navalcarnero, Spain), Carlos Akapo Martínez (Cádiz FC, Spain), Miguel Ángel Mayé (Futuro Kings) Néstor Senra (Sevilla C,Spain), Luís Enrique Nsue (Cano Sport), Marvin José Anieboh (Cp. Cacereño,Spain), Saúl Coco (UD Las Palmas, Spain) y Basilio Owono Ndong (Rks. Westerlo, Belgium).

MIDFIELDERS: Yannik Buyla Sam ( Nastic de Tarragona, Spain), Santiago Eneme Bokari (Nantes B, France), Federico Bikoro (Hércules CF, Spain), Álex Balboa (Alavés B, Spain), José Miranda (Getafe B, Spain), Pablo Ganet Comitre (Real Murcia, Sapin), José Machín Dicombo ( Monza, Italy), Rubén Belima ( Hércules FC, Spain) y Javier Akapo Martínez ( Ibiza,Spain)

FORWARDS: Óscar Siafa (Olimpiakos Volou, Greece), Luís Nlavo Asue (SC. Praga U23,Czech Republic), Iban Salvador Edú (CF. Fuenlabrada,Spain), Emilio Nsue López (unattached), Salomón Asumu Obama ( Club. Dvo. Móstoles).


Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.