Relive the 2020 MTN8 final

Relive the 2020 MTN8 final
Orlando Pirates winners of the 2020 MTN8 final match between Bloemfontein Celtic and Orlando Pirates at Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban, on 12 December 2020 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Friday Oct 29, 2021. 12:00

With the 2021 MTN8 final between Cape Town City and Mamelodi Sundowns set to be played this weekend, we look back at the previous final in South Africa’s Top Eight Cup competition.

December 12, 2020 saw Bloemfontein Celtic and Orlando Pirates meet at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Celtic claimed an early lead through Siphelele Luthuli, but ultimately it was the Buccaneers who triumphed 2-1 thanks to an equaliser from Deon Hotto and a winner from the penalty spot on 53 minutes from Thembinkosi Lorch.

Pirates claimed their 10th MTN8 title and a first since 2011, with the victory also breaking a trophy drought which stretched back more than six years to their 2014 Nedbank Cup title.

Enjoy the highlights of the 2020 MTN8 final below:

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.