Power Dynamos establish club Hall of Fame

Power Dynamos establish club Hall of Fame
Veteran coach Fred Mwila (C) receives his Power Dynamos Hall of Fame Shield during the clubs' 50th anniversary ceremony held in Kitwe on 22/12/2021

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Dec 23, 2021. 18:00

Power Dynamos have established a club Hall of Fame to mark their 50th anniversary that the Kitwe side is celebrating this week.

The six-time Zambian league champions marked the launch of the Power Dynamos Hall of Fame on December 22 in Kitwe with the induction of 19 legends and ex-officials .

They include Power’s 75 -year old ex -coach Fred Mwila who oversaw the clubs rise in the 1980s and led them to victory in the 1991 CAF Cup Winners Cup final when they beat then holders BCC Lions of Nigeria 5-4 on aggregate over two legs after winning 3-1 at home and losing 3-2 away.

That feat saw Power become the first club from the COSAFA Zone to win a continental title and the only Zambian club to do so to date.

“I thank God that I am remembered while I am alive, I am thankful to see my former players most of them that are still alive it is a great honour to see them, it brings back great memories,” Mwila said.

Mwila is so far the only Power Hall of Fame inductee to be honoured in the player and coaching categories.

Members of that 1991 winning team were also honoured- both living and post-humus.

They include current Power Dynamos’ technical adviser Linos Makwaza, the clubs goalkeeper trainer Martin Mwamba and Green Eagles coach Aggrey Chiyangi.

Also honoured was Power’s 1980’s legend and former Zambia star Peter Kaumba.

Meanwhile, Power also honoured Wisdom Chansa, Wynter Mumba, Robert Watyakeni, Kenan Simambe, Wisdom Chansa and late coach Alex Chola who all died on Chipolopolo duty in the 1993 Gabon Air Crash off the coast of Libreville.


Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.