Morocco ease into Last 16 with Comoros win

Morocco ease into Last 16 with Comoros win
Selim Amallah of Morocco celebrates his goal during the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations Afcon Finals football match between Morocco and Comoros at Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium in Yaounde, Cameroon on 14 January 2022 © Alain Suffo/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Friday Jan 14, 2022. 20:30

Morocco defeated Comoros 2-0 in the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Group C match at the Stade Omnisport Ahmadou Ahidjo in Cameroon on Friday night.

As a result, the Atlas Lions progressed to the Last 16 with a game to spare, while the Coelacanths’ remained fourth on the table with their chances of reaching the knockout phase very slim.

The Atlas Lions dominated the game from the first whistle and it did not come as a surprise when Selim Amallah broke the deadlock 16 minutes into the encounter.

The Standard Liege star fired past goalkeeper Salim Ben Boina to hand Morocco a 1-0 lead after Ayoub El Kaabi’s shot was blocked inside the Coelacanths’ box.

It should have been 2-0 to Morocco in the 36th minute when Nayef Aguerd hit the crossbar with the France-born defender having connected with Sofiane Boufal’s cross.

Morocco were deservedly leading 1-0 during the half-time break having dominated the first-half and kept Comoros quiet.

The Atlas Lions continued to dominate the game after the restart with Ben Boina a busy man between the stick as he made a fine diving save from’s Achraf Hakimi curling free-kick.

The FC Martigues shot-stopper then produced a magnificent save denying Adama Masina on the goal-line after the Coelacanths’ defence was exposed.

Morocco were then awarded a penalty after Faycal Fajr was fouled by Ben Boina in the box. However, Ben Boina made amends by blocking Youssef En Nesyri’s attempt from the penalty spot.

However, Ben Boina was finally beaten for the second time on the night when Zakaria Aboukhlal scored with two minutes left and the late goal sealed Morocco’s 2-0 win over Comoros.

Morocco (1) 2 (Amallah 16′, Aboukhlal 88′)

Comoros (0) 0

Morocco: Bounou, Hakimi, Aguerd, Saiss, Masina, Amrabat, Louza (Aboukhlal 65′), Amallah (Ounahi 90′), Tissoudali (Fajr 65′), Boufal (EL Haddadi 76′), El Kaabi (En Nesyri 65′).

Comoros: Ben Boina; M. Youssouf (Mogni 89′), M’Dahoma, Abdou, B. Youssouf (Zahary 65′), Abdullah (Bourhane 59′), Bachirou (Moussa 90′), M’Changama, Bakari (I.Youssouf 90′), Selemani, Ben Nabouhane.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.