Addo describes CR7 penalty as ‘gift from the referee’

Addo describes CR7 penalty as ‘gift from the referee’
Head coach Otto Addo of Ghana during the FIFA World Cup 2022 group H soccer match between Portugal and Ghana at Stadium 947 in Doha, Qatar, 24 November 2022. EPA/Rolex dela Pena

by Staff Reporter

Friday Nov 25, 2022. 11:00

Following Ghana’s 3-2 defeat against Portugal in their opening 2022 World Cup fixture, Black Stars coach Otto Addo felt that the penalty awarded to Cristiano Ronaldo was the wrong call from the officials.


The Group H encounter proved to be one of the most eventful games of the week, as the two nations produced a five goal thriller at Stadium 974. After a timid first-half in which little chances were created, Portugal opened the scoring soon after the hour mark.


Challenged in the box by Mohammed Salisu, referee Ismail Elfath swiftly pointed to the spot. In turn, Ronaldo slotted the ball into the back of the net as the became the first footballer to score at five World Cup finals.


Addo however, felt that it was in fact Salisu that was fouled and described the penalty as a ‘gift’ from the officials as Portugal claimed all three points on the night.


“When they score the goal, the game changed. I think it was a really wrong decision,” Addo said after the game, as per Daily Mail.


“We play the ball and sure there was contact afterwards.


“You have to ask the referee, I have no proof of that but we were playing the ball and then there was a contact.


“I don’t know whether they weren’t paying attention, whether the VAR wasn’t paying attention. If you look back at the scene, it is unbelievable. We were playing the ball, it was a foul against us!


“If somebody scores a goal congratulations but it was really a goal. A special gift from the referee.”







COMMENTS
Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
X
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.