Appollis and Adams make final cut for Bafana Bafana

Appollis and Adams make final cut for Bafana Bafana
Oswin Appollis of Polokwane City challenged by Sihle Nduli of Stellenbosch FC during the 2023 Carling Black Label Knockout Quarterfinal match between Polokwane City and Stellenbosch at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane on the 03 November 2023 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Friday Nov 10, 2023. 14:42

Bafana Bafana head coach Hugo Broos made a few surprise inclusions in his 23-man squad for the upcoming 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Benin and Rwanda.

Both Oswin Appollis and Jayden Adams have received maiden call-ups as reward for their impressive performances for Polokwane City and Stellenbosch respectively this season.

Golden Arrows left-back Bradley Cross has also been given the chance to prove himself on the international stage, while Thapelo Maseko is in line to make his debut after only making the bench against Morocco during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Al Ahly winger Percy Tau returns to the fold after missing the October friendlies for personal reasons, but Lyle Foster has been left out in order to deal mental health issues at Burnley.

Broos’ side kick off their qualifying campaign for the showpiece in Canada, Mexico and the United States with a home clash against the Cheetahs in Durban on Saturday, November 18 before taking on the Wasps in Butare three days later.

Bafana Bafana squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns), Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ricardo Goss (SuperSport United);

Defenders: Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United), Bradley Cross (Golden Arrows), Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns), Nkosinathi Sibisi (Orlando Pirates), Aubrey Modiba (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (SuperSport United), Mothobi Mvala (Mamelodi Sundowns), Khuliso Mudau (Mamelodi Sundowns);

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Sibongiseni Mthethwa (Kaizer Chiefs), Jayden Adams (Stellenbosch), Sphephelo Sithole (CD Tondela);

Forwards: Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates), Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Al Ahly), Oswin Appollis (Polokwane City), Mihlali Mayambela (Aris Limassol), Thapelo Maseko (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Minnesota United).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.