Pirates win back-to-back Nedbank Cup titles

Pirates win back-to-back Nedbank Cup titles
Patrick Maswanganyi of Orlando Pirates celebrates a goal with team mates during the 2023/24 Nedbank Cup Final match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates at Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit on 1 June 2024 ©Phakamisa Lensman/BackpagePix

by Thando Mpembe

Saturday Jun 01, 2024. 17:25

Orlando Pirates’ fighting spirit saw the team come from behind to retain the Nedbank Cup final, as they beat Mamelodi Sundowns 2-1 at the Mbombela Stadium on Saturday evening.

The game between the top two teams in South Africa was intense from the very first whistle, with Sundowns pressing hard from the beginning. Within six minutes, the DStv Premiership champions were awarded a penalty which was taken by Lucas Ribeiro.

The forward’s effort was saved by Sipho Chaine, and as both teams settled into the match Pirates began to look more comfortable on the ball, although Sundowns dominated possession.

The second half saw Themba Zwane open the scoring for the Brazilians in the 54th minute as he received an assist from Ribeiro, but Pirates were not discouraged and continued to look for the goal.

A penalty was given to the Soweto team and Patrick Maswanganyi scored the equaliser with 20 minutes of normal time remaining. As both teams were on level pegging, they tried to find the winning goal but they could not break each other down in that regard.

A freekick was given to Pirates in the closing stages of stoppage time and the well-taken set piece resulted in youngster Relebohile Mofokeng in on goal and he finished well to give them the lead with very little time for Sundowns to change the scoreline.

As the final whistle blew, celebrations engulfed the Mbombela Stadium as Orlando Pirates retained the Nedbank Cup title.

Mamelodi Sundowns (0) 1 (Zwane 54’)

Orlando Pirates (0) 2 (Maswanganyi 71’ PEN, Mofokeng 90+4′)

Mamelodi Sundowns: R. Williams, G. Kekana (J. Mendieta 46’), T. Mokoena, M. Lebusa, K. Mudau, B. Zungu, B. Aubaas, A. Modiba, T. Zwane, L. Ribeiro (T. Moreną), M. Allende

Orlando Pirates: S. Chaine, I. Maela (R. Mofokeng 71’), T. Sesane (N. Sibisi 83’), O. Ndah, T. Monyane (T. Lebitso 60’), T. Mbatha, M. Makhaula (K. Dlamini 71’), D. Hotto, P. Maswanganyi, M. Saleng, E. Makgopa (T. Mabasa 60’)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.