DR Congo see off spirited Togo in Kinshasa

DR Congo see off spirited Togo in Kinshasa
Arthur Masuaku of DR Congo challenged by Iliman Ndiaye of Senegal during the 2026 World Cup Qualifiers match between Senegal and DR Congo at Stade Me Abdoulaye Wade in Diamniadio, Senegal on 6 June 2024 ©Lamine Faye/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jun 09, 2024. 20:14

The DR Congo national team returned to winning ways in their latest CAF 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifier assignment this weekend following a tense 1-0 win against Togo at Stade des Martyrs on Sunday night.

Following a frantic start to proceedings at Stade des Martyrs, DR Congo took the lead in the 6th minute of the encounter. After direct play into the Togo half, Meschak got on the end of a pinpoint cross directed toward the far post, as he expertly guided the ball into the back of the net.

It was all Togo since DRC took an early lead, with the Sparrowhawks dominating play en-route to the 20th minute mark. Content with surrendering the ball, the Leopards looked to hit their opponents on the break at every opportunity.

Togo continued to see more of the ball midway through the first-half and actively searched for an equalizer. However, DRC proved to be a tough nut to crack, particularly through the middle of the pitch.

While Togo were all over DRC throughout the first-half, the Sparrowhawks were unable to make the most of their attacking advancements and headed into the break being a goal down.

Togo put DRC immense pressure immediately after the restart and often took the direct approach in search of an equalizer. At the other end of the pitch, the Leopards looked to cause damage in counter-attacking situations.

The score remained 1-0 in favour of DRC toward the 75th minute mark, however, the Leopards played under the cosh for much of the second-half in looking to ward off the Togo attacks.

Despite creating numerous chances before the end of the tie, Togo were unable to get the equalizer as the DRC collected maximum points in a 1-0 win on home soil.

DR Congo: Bertaud, Mbemba, Masuaku, Batubinsika, Tuanzebe, Kakuta (Pickel 46’), Wissa (Bongonda 63’), Moutoussamy (Tshibola 93’), Pickel, Essenda (Mayele 62’), Elia (Akolo 81’)

Togo: Oura-Gneni, Dakonam, Agbozo (Fofana 10’), Romao, Aholou, Karim, Bebou, Narey (Klidje 87’), Denkey (Laba 46’), Tchekei, Aziangbe (Annor 68’)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.