Kano Pillars

Masu Gida

Pillars are based in the Northern Nigeria commercial city of Kano.
They are arguably the most popular club in Nigeria with the 25,000-capacity Sani Abacha Stadium packed full for all their home games.
They emerged league champions for the first time in their history in 2008 and reached the semi-finals of the CAF Champions League on their debut the following year.
The club now coached by former Nigeria U20 coach Ladan Bosso have also been were also runners-up in the Nigeria Premier League twice.
Former Nigeria Football Association (NFA), Ibrahim Galadima, founded Pillars in 1990 from an amalgamation of clubs in this football-mad city.
‘Sai Masu Gida’ (literally means the owners of the house in Hausa) is the phrase that accompanies Kano Pillars everywhere they go.
Pillars play an attractive passing game and the violence at the home games has been curbed by the formation of a supporters club who now run the gates and help in maintaining security.
Past stars include Nigeria internationals Ahmed Musa and Sani Kaita, Ahmed Garba ‘Yaro Yaro’, Rabiu Baita, Bello Kofarmata and Solomon Okpako.
Skipper Gambo Mohammed now leads the charge for goals following the departure of Ahmed Musa to Dutch club VVV Venlo after he set a new NPL all-time record of 18 goals last season.
Goalkeeper Theophilus Afelokai, Wasiu Showemimo and midfielder Mohammed Shagari have all been capped by Nigeria at various levels.