Sunshine Stars

The 'Mimiko Boys'

Governor of Ondo State, the main financiers of the club, are making their debut in the group phase of the CAF Champions League.
Last year, they reached the last four of the second-tier CAF Confederation Cup, also at first try.
They are the only Nigerian club left in continental club competition this year, but coach Gbenga Ogunbote has insisted that they can cope with the pressure of being the country’s sole flag bearers.
“I am sad that Heartland and Warri Wolves could not go through and that now puts us under pressure to keep doing well as every Nigerian will want us to win the title. We won't let the pressure affect us as we will go all out and do our best to make Nigeria proud,” promised Ogunbote.
“We now want to go past the group stage and after that our target will be to win the competition.”
However, this direct-playing side who boast a big squad face a daunting task in Group A alongside North African opposition - defending champions Esperance and Etoile du Sahel both of Tunisia and ASO Chlef from Algeria.
Skipper Godfrey Oboabona, strikers Ajani Ibrahim, Dele Olorundare and Izu Azuka as well as the Cameroonian duo of Tamen Medrano and Isaac Hele are among the stars paraded by club, who were runners up in the Nigeria Premier League last season.
Sunshine play their home games at the Ijebu-Ode stadium because the stadium in Akure is not up to standard and this may well explain the crowds at their games.
Enyimba are still the only Nigerian club to win this competition, having won it back-to-back in 2003 and 2004.