The Flames
Joined FIFA:

Malawi have been runners-up in two Cosafa
Castle Cup competitions, reaching the final for the first time in 2002 and the
making the decider again the following year. 

Although they were beaten in both legs of
the finals by South Africa and Zimbabwe respectively, the Flames have shown
they are building a side to be reckoned with in the future.

Malawi did beat past winners Angola and
Zambia on their way to the final in 2002 and the next year disposed of Zambia
again on penalties in the semifinals.

Malawi have a strong record in regional
competition, having won the East and Central African Senior Challenge Cup three
times – in 1978, 1979 and 1988.

Now the landlocked country is part of
Cosafa and has been eager participants in the Cosafa Castle Cup and Cosafa
Senior Challenge, playing in all previous editions. Malawi have also qualified
for the African Nations Cup finals once before – in Cote d’Ivoire in 1984 and
were bronze medallists at the 1987 All-Africa Games in Nairobi.

They lost 1-0 to Mozambique in the
quarterfinals of the Cosafa Senior Challenge in 2009.